Chris Foster Running Backs Coach | East Carolina University



3 Mins read
2020 Nominee Announcement 2048x2048 1

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (December 8, 2020) – The Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation is pleased to announce the nominees for the 2020 Broyles Award, which honors college football’s top assistant coaches.

The 56 nominees in this year’s class were selected from approximately 1,270 assistant coaches representing 127 Division One programs across the country. The Broyles Award selection process includes the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA), broadcasters, a college football hall-of-fame selection committee and current college head coaches.

The nominees include:

  • ALABAMA – Steve Sarkisian, Offensive Coordinator / QBs
  • APP STATE – James Rowe, Cornerbacks
  • ARKANSAS – Barry Odom, Defensive Coordinator / S
  • AUBURN – Larry Porter, Special Teams Coordinator / TE
  • BALL STATE – Tyler Stockton, Defensive Coordinator / Inside LB
  • BOISE STATE – Eric Kiesau, Offensive Coordinator / QBs
  • BUFFALO – Scott Fuchs, Offensive Line
  • BYU – Jeff Grimes, Offensive Coordinator
  • CENTRAL MICHIGAN – Robb Akey, Defensive Coordinator
  • CINCINNATI – Marcus Freeman, Defensive Coordinator / LB
  • CLEMSON – Brandon Streeter, Passing Game Coordinator / QBs
  • COASTAL CAROLINA – Chad Staggs, Defensive Coordinator / LB
  • COLORADO – Tyson Summers, Defensive Coordinator
  • COLORADO STATE – Chuck Heater, Defensive Coordinator / S
  • FLORIDA – Brian Johnson, Offensive Coordinator / QBs
  • FRESNO STATE – Ryan Grubb, Assoc. Head Coach / OC / QBs
  • GEORGIA – Dan Lanning, Defensive Coordinator / Outside LB
  • GEORGIA SOUTHERN – Chris Foster, Running Backs
  • GEORGIA STATE – Trent McKnight, Receivers
  • GEORGIA TECH – Brent Key, Run Game Coordinator / OL
  • INDIANA – Kane Wommack, Defensive Coordinator / LB
  • IOWA – Phil Parker, Defensive Coordinator / Secondaries
  • IOWA STATE – Tom Manning, Offensive Coordinator / TE
  • KENTUCKY – John Schlarman, Offensive Line
  • LIBERTY – Scott Symons, Defensive Coordinator / LB
  • LOUISIANA – Patrick Toney, Defensive Coordinator / S
  • LOUISIANA TECH – John Allen, Outside Receivers
  • MARSHALL – Brad Lambert, Defensive Coordinator / S
  • MARYLAND – Jon Hoke, Defensive Coordinator / DB
  • MIAMI – Rhett Lashlee, Offensive Coordinator / QBs
  • MISSISSIPPI STATE – Zach Arnett, Defensive Coordinator / LB
  • MIZZOU – Marcus Johnson, Offensive Line
  • NC STATE – Tim Beck, Offensive Coordinator / QBs
  • NEVADA – Matt Mumme, Offensive Coordinator
  • NORTH CAROLINA – Phil Longo, Offensive Coordinator
  • NORTH TEXAS – Mike Bloesch, Co-Offensive Coordinator / OL
  • NORTHWESTERN – Mike Hankwitz, Defensive Coordinator
  • NOTRE DAME – Clark Lea, Defensive Coordinator / LB
  • OHIO STATE – Brian Hartline, Wide Receivers
  • OKLAHOMA – Calvin Thibodeaux, Defensive Line
  • OKLAHOMA STATE – Jim Knowles, Defensive Coordinator / LB
  • OLE MISS – Jeff Lebby, Offensive Coordinator / QBs
  • OREGON – Joe Moorhead, Offensive Coordinator
  • OREGON STATE – Michael Pitre, Running Backs
  • RUTGERS – Sean Gleeson, Offensive Coordinator / QBs
  • SAN DIEGO STATE – Kurt Mattix, Defensive Coordinator / LB
  • SAN JOSÉ STATE – Alonzo Carter, Running Backs
  • SMU – A.J. Ricker, Co-Offensive Coordinator / OL
  • USC – Todd Orlando, Defensive Coordinator
  • TEXAS A&M – Mike Elko, Defensive Coordinator / S
  • TULSA – Joseph Gillespie, Defensive Coordinator / LB
  • UCF – Darrell Wyatt, Wide Receivers
  • ARMY – Sean Saturnio, Special Teams
  • WAKE FOREST – Dave Cohen, Assistant head Coach for Defense / DL
  • WEST VIRGINIA – Jordan Lesley, Defensive Line
  • WESTERN KENTUCKY – Clayton White, Defensive Coordinator / CB
  • WISCONSIN – Jim Leonhard, Defensive Coordinator

A 43-member selection committee of distinguished former head coaches, broadcasters, and a committee representing the FWAA will select 15 semi-finalists and five finalists from the list of nominees and an overall winner.

The winner of the 2019 Broyles Award was Joe Brady, passing game coordinator at LSU. Previous winners are not eligible to be nominated for the Broyles Award until the completion of three seasons.

Proceeds from the 2020 Broyles Award support the mission of the Broyles Foundation; to provide a game plan through education, support, and resources to Alzheimer’s caregivers. The Broyles Foundation can be followed on FacebookTwitter and Instagram.

Football Line

About the Broyles Award

The Broyles Award was created in 1996 recognizing Coach Frank Broyles’ legacy of selecting and developing great assistants during his hall of fame career as head coach at Arkansas. You can follow the Broyles Award on FacebookInstagram and Twitter.

About the National College Football Awards Association

The National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 699 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.

About the Football Writers Association of America

The Football Writers Association of America, founded in 1941, consists of 1,300 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at

Related posts

Pirate Radio LIVE 2/11/21 - ECU Football RB Coach Chris Foster


“Get comfortable with being uncomfortable.”

Featured on This is the mentality that Running Backs Coach for East Carolina University, Chris Foster says he tries to instill in…

Georgia Southern's Chris Foster named Broyles Award Nominee

STATESBORO, Ga. — Georgia Southern assistant coach Chris Foster is one of 56 nominees up for the 2020 Broyles Award, which is…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *